Connect with us

Los Angeles Chargers

2 Los Angeles Chargers honored by Pro Football Writers of America

Chargers safeties Derwin James and Adrian Phillips may have landed on the Associated Press’ All-Pro Teams, but the Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) didn’t make the same mistake in 2018 as they were named to the All-AFC and NFL Team Tuesday. James was also named to the All-Rookie team.

This marks the first PFWA honor for both players and also makes the Bolts one of only six teams to have two players represented on the All-NFL team.

The 2018 first-round selection didn’t disappoint, where he was a valuable chess piece in defensive coordinator Gus Bradley’s defense. James finished his remarkable rookie season with 105 tackles (75 solo), three sacks and three interceptions. He now awaits to hear the results for the Defensive Rookie of the Year award.

Phillips made both PFWA lists as a special teamer. Like James, Phillips served as a do-it-all player for Los Angeles. With the lack of depth at the linebacker position, he filled in nicely, being stout against the run and pass. In 2018, he led the team and the league in special teams tackles (19).

Below is the PFWA’s All-NFL Team that Phillips and James were named a part of, per their official website.

QB – Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs
RB – Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas Cowboys; Todd Gurley, Los Angeles Rams*
WR – DeAndre Hopkins, Houston Texans*; Julio Jones, Atlanta Falcons, and Michael Thomas, New Orleans Saints (tie)
TE – Travis Kelce, Kansas City Chiefs
C – Jason Kelce, Philadelphia Eagles*
G – Zack Martin, Dallas Cowboys&; Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis Colts
T – David Bakhtiari, Green Bay Packers; Mitchell Schwartz, Kansas City Chiefs
DE – Danielle Hunter, Minnesota Vikings; J.J. Watt, Houston Texans
DT – Fletcher Cox, Philadelphia Eagles*; Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams&
OLB – Khalil Mack, Chicago Bears; Von Miller, Denver Broncos+
MLB – Bobby Wagner, Seattle Seahawks#
CB – Kyle Fuller, Chicago Bears; Stephon Gilmore, New England Patriots
S – Eddie Jackson, Chicago Bears; Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers
Special Teams
PK – Justin Tucker, Baltimore Ravens
P – Michael Dickson, Seattle Seahawks
KR – Andre Roberts, New York Jets
PR – Tarik Cohen, Chicago Bears
ST – Adrian Phillips, Los Angeles Chargers

* – repeat selection from 2017
# – consecutive selections from 2016-18
& – consecutive selections from 2015-18
+ – consecutive selections from 2014-18

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Los Angeles Chargers